Peggy Davison Scientist Award

The Peggy Davison Clinician Scientist Award was established by Cancer Care Nova Scotia in 2004 to support a clinician scientist in developing his/her body of research and to contribute to improved cancer control in Nova Scotia. The award was named in recognition of Peggy Davison, inaugural Board Chair of Cancer Care Nova Scotia.

The award provides $100,000 per year for three years to be used as direct support for a program of clinical research. It may be renewed for a second three-year period following successful review.

The first award holder was Dr. Eva Grunfeld, a professor of medicine and national leader in health services research. Health services research attempts to bridge the gap between what is and what ought to be. As a result of the Peggy Davison Clinician Scientist Award, Dr. Grunfeld’s research provides information to improve the delivery of and access to cancer services.

The Beatrice Hunter Cancer Research Institute administers the award for Cancer Care Nova Scotia. It managed the competitive application process, which began in the Fall of 2010. The Institute, created in 2009, supports a strong network of cancer researchers in Atlantic Canada.

On May 13, 2011, Dr. Jason Berman was announced as the successful recipient of the Peggy Davison Clinician Scientist Award.

© 2017 Cancer Care Nova Scotia    Sitemap | Privacy                                                                                                        Report broken links and errors to