Patients & Families
Patients and Families
Recommended Websites

Today, you can find an endless amount of information on the internet. It is helpful to remember that not all of the information you will find is accurate and reliable. The best advice is to treat everything you find on the internet with caution, unless you know it is from a reliable website. Below is a list of reputable online resources. 

Websites with a wide range of cancer Information: 
    • BC Cancer Agency – www.bccancer.ca   
    • Canadian Association of Psychosocial Oncology – www.capo.ca  
    • Canadian Cancer Society – www.cancer.ca  
    • Cancer Knowledge Network – https://cancerkn.com  
    • Cancer Care – www.cancercare.org  
    • Cancer View Canada – www.cancerview.ca 
    • Cochrane Collaboration -- www.cochrane.org/about-us
    • National LGBT Cancer Network -- www.cancer-network.org 
    • Rainbow Health Ontario -- www.rainbowhealthontario.ca
    • Young Adult cancer Canada – www.youngadultcancer.ca 

The following are US sites and some information may not apply in Canada
    • American Society of Clinical Oncology - http://www.asco.org/
    • Livestrong -- www.livestrong.com
    • Mayo Clinic -- www.mayoclinic.org
    • National Cancer Institute - www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/PDQ
    • The National Comprehensive Cancer Network - http://www.nccn.org
       
Cancer-Specific Websites:     
    • Bladder Cancer Canada- www.bladdercancercanada.org 
    • Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada – www.braintumour.ca
    • Breast Reconstruction – www.breastreconstruction.ca  
    • Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation -- www.cbcf.org
    • Carcinoid-NeuroEndocrine Tumour Society of Canada -  
       http://www.cnetscanada.org/
    • Craig's Cause Pancreatic Cancer Society - www.craigscause.ca 
    • Colorectal Cancer Association of Canada – www.colorectal-cancer.ca  
    • Kidney Cancer Canada – www.kidneycancercanada.org  
    • Leukemia & Lymphoma society of Canada – www.leukemia-lymphoma.org 
    • Lung Cancer Canada – www.lungcancercanada.ca  
    • Myeloma Canada – www.myelomacanada.ca 
    • Ovarian Cancer Canada – www.ovariancanada.org  
    • Prostate Cancer Canada – www.prostatecancer.ca 
    • Rethink Breast Cancer – www.rethinkbreastcancer.com 
    • The Breast Cancer Society of Canada - http://www.bcsc.ca/  
    • Thyroid Cancer Canada – www.thyroidcancercanada.org  
    • United Ostomy Association www.ostomycanada.ca   
     
Online Support Groups: 
    • Cancer Chat Canada – www.cancerchatcanada.ca 
    • Cancer Connection – www.cancerconnection.ca  
    • Life with Cancer – www.lifewithcancer.org 
    • Smoking Cessation - Canadian Cancer Society 1-877-513-5333 www.smokershelpline.ca
    • Survivor Net – www.survivornet.ca  
    • Teen Connect – www.teenconnection.ca  

Pediatric Cancer Links: 
    
• IWK Health Centre for Women and Children - http://www.iwk.nshealth.ca/
    • Childhood Cancer – www.childhoodcancer.ca 
    • Cure Search – www.curesearch.org   
    • Pogo – www.pogo.ca  
    • Starlight Canada – www.starlightcanada.org   
    • Teens Living with Cancer - www.teenslivingwithcancer.ca
    •Camp Triumph (for children with a sibling/parent with cancer) --      www.camptriumph.ca

Palliative Care:  
    Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association - www.chpca.net/
    • Canadian Virtual Hospice - www.virtualhospice.ca
       
www.mygrief.ca
        www.livingmyculture.ca 

    •
Capital Health's Palliative Care Program - www.cdha.nshealth.ca/palliative-care
    • Caregivers Nova Scotia - www.CaregiversNS.org 
    • Living Lessons - www.living-lessons.org
    • Nova Scotia Hospice Palliative Care Association - www.nshpca.ca
    • Help for Cancer Caregivers - www.helpforcancercaregivers.org
   
Survivorship:
    • American Cancer Society  www.cancer.org/treatment/survivorshipduringandaftertreatment/index 
    • American Society of Clinical Oncology
www.cancer.net/survivorship
    • BC Cancer Agency  www.bccancer.bc.ca/HPI/RecommendedLinks/coping/survivorship.htm
    • Cancer Council - NSW 
www.cancercouncil.com.au/get-support/when-treatment-finishes/
    • View the Canadian Cancer Society's Publication on "Life After Cancer Treatment"
    • Bosom Buddies
http://www.bosombuddies.ca/